Moving Day!

Moving day was yesterday and it was surprisingly stress free. woohoo! I took the day off work because my new apartment building only allows moves M-F 9-5. Went to the RA doc at 930 (joints are all good :) ) then movers came at 11! I used Dumbo Moving & Storage and they were great… didn’t really speak English but moved EVERYTHING. They quoted me originally for 3 boxes and yesterday I managed to have 8 plus an extra wardrobe box, clothes rack and snowboard. oops! They packed up everything and we were unpacking in the West Village by 12:30! To get my bed frame up two flights of stairs they pulled it up through the little space between the railing and the floor/ceiling if that makes sense. Anyway I couldn’t even watch and was just waiting for the bed frame to come crashing down! It didn’t and everything made it’s way into my cute little studio! Thank goodness for amazing friends because we were unpacked and organized by 9pm and that includes a Bed, Bath & Beyond run and waiting for delivery. I cannot take credit for this beautiful piece of art, but this is my amazing built in bookcase:

Thanks CJ!

I will not touch this bookcase ever. Honestly if I put this together it would look like this:

I was only allowed one stuffed animal on the new bookcase...

because this was my actual old bookcase. Papers, junk, some books and stuffed animals.

I still need to organize my desk and kitchen and figure out where I want to do my makeup in the morning. It was weird sleeping in a studio without a friend 15 feet away! Luckily the building feels really safe, but I think I’ll keep my window locked at night for the time being. It was weird sitting and eating alone with no TV and no roommate (and no internet yet). I also feel like a foreigner in my new neighborhood! The east side has been my home for the past 2 years and I know what’s on most streets around me. I love exploring though and checking out the new hood will keep me busy for weeks. Too bad every night of my life is already booked. sigh.

I think it’s the perfect first studio though. It’s crazy because it’s the first and only place I looked at and the application process was extremely long and tedious. I found the gem on Craigslist, saw it on September 1st, applied that day, turned in application 3 days later (3 person references, 3 business references, employment verification, W2s, tax returns blahblahblah) then waited like TWO WEEKS to see if I was approved for an interview. Then had an interview (NY Coops are crazy) and thank goodness I was accepted. If I wasn’t I would have had about… 6 days to find an apartment. But I think everything works out for a reason and well I’m VERY glad this one worked out.

The commute was better. Cute West Village quiet streets + Joe’s iced americano and the BDFM to Bryant Park. No more Union Square and no more Grand Central!! I think my subway rage will calm down a bit.

Tonight I’m checking out a spin class at Equinox on 17th and 10th then dinner at my friend’s place who is now my new neighbor!

Leave a comment